rorkesdriftvc.com Forum Index

rorkesdriftvc.com
Discussions related to the Anglo-Zulu War of 1879
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
I think I have found my new fascination! ( Zulu War )
Johnny_H

OK so I guess this is why we are all here after all at this forum, but I really think that the Anglo Zulu war is becoming my new fascination. I am pretty new to the Military History scene, only 23 and I hold no degrees or courses on the subject. I am for all intents and purposes a "Reader due to interest", all I have read the last few years and much more frequently in the last few months has been about the Second World War ( my favorite history subject ).

That being said, I have always ever since childhood been interested in the Anglo Zulu and Boer War. I have always sort of been weary though of reading about this material because I imagined most of the books would be purely academic, dry historically accurate to the point of obsession text books. Although I am interested in the subject, I cannot get through a book that isn't a page turner, or has some sort of excitement to it.

I just read "The Curling letters of the Zulu war "There was an awfull slaughter" by Adrian Greaves and Brian Best, and am currently addicted to reading A.Greaves "Across the Buffalo". I have been advised to be weary of A.Greaves by two members of this forum, not knowing any better for the time being both books have really impressed me.

Now I think I am going to get Mike Snooks Book "How Can Man Die Better: The Secrets of Isandlwana Revealed" and his book about Rorke's Drift ( Pre-Ordered ). So the Anglo-Zulu war is very fast becoming my topic of choice (The Second world war needs a break eh Wink )

I don't know if I am totally crazy but I do believe I saw a user named "Mike Snook" here and if that is indeed the Author, I think that is great and I look forward to reading your work.