rorkesdriftvc.com Forum Index

rorkesdriftvc.com
Discussions related to the Anglo-Zulu War of 1879
Reply to topic
How Can Man Die Better
Coll

I hope this doesn't unsettle you too much Mike, in the fact that it is me who has started this topic about your book in this new forum.

It is just to say that I am very much looking forward to reading it, and I'm sure I will agree with everything you say about 'you know who'.

Okay. Maybe not.

However, judging by some of the details about the book's contents in a few topics in the old forum, it will make interesting reading.

Additionally, on completion of reading this title, is there a chance that I could ask 1 or 2 questions ?

Alright. 10 or 20. (maybe more)

Although, I'm not very good at debates, so I might need to wait until I see a few other admirers of Durnford, hopefully making an appearance.

Strength in numbers !

Don't forget, I've seen you involved in a couple of the previous marathon discussions. I wouldn't stand a chance on my own !

I'm sure your book will be a great success.

Coll
Dawn

Coll
I know I shouldn't be encouraging you but I thought you might be interested in this, if you don't already know about it:
http://www.internet-promotions.co.uk/archives/caithness/ptehgrant.htm
It credits Col Durnford with finding the impi and states that his first thoughts were for the camp. Not sure how credible the source is, but it is interesting.
Dawn
Coll

Dawn

I've had a look at the site you mentioned and it does appear that several facts are sort of mixed up, maybe with it being a summarised version of this particular incident, the wording confuses matters.

It does seem to say that Col. Durnford left the camp although he was in command of it, but this is where problems have been encountered previously in the other forum.

I'm not sure if Durnford had actually taken command of the camp on arrival, then tranferred command back to Pulleine when he departed with his mounted force and the Rocket Battery.